Falling In love | Shorts [Non-Fiction]

We sat together in close proximity, so close that I could almost taste the scent that his skin exuded. He was telling me a joke. Something about a cat. And a dog. But I wasn’t really listening. All I could concentrate on was how pink his lips were. And how his glasses rode up over his nose a bit every time he smiled widely. He had a strong gaze, eyes that looked straight into yours when they talked to you. I could never do that. I could never look at people straight in the eye.

Oh. He was laughing again. I joined in. He had a strong, handsome laugh. I was entranced. The joke must have been really funny, because he couldn’t stop laughing. I continued laughing too, resembling a retarded seal probably.

And suddenly, in that one tiny moment, intertwining bright lights, unicorns, dragons, cats, and laughter, I fell in love.

Leave a comment